+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

  1. Top | #1
    scootero1211
    Guest scootero1211's Avatar

    Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    I removed Spore and SecuROM from my parents' computer after seeing this site. After discovering the de-authorization tool, I am wondering if I will still be able to run it after I have removed SecuROM? Please say yes, I think I'm almost out of activations!

    SecuROM stinks.

  2. Top | #2
    UTtheLofty
    Guest UTtheLofty's Avatar

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    If you've deleted the License registry entry(the one that's really hard to delete, requiring either regdellnull or trashreg), then probably not. You're welcome to try it. I do not actually have experience with the deauthorization tools, and I could be wrong. But based on my understanding of how it works, I don't believe the de-authorization tool will help after removing that license file.

  3. Top | #3
    Senior Member Darklord's Avatar
    Join Date
    26th February 2009
    Posts
    235

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    I downloaded the EA multi revoke tool just for fun and tried it after I have removed all license information via trashreg. It can't find any revocable activations so you can't get activations back. Not a big deal for me but for others, I guess.

  4. Top | #4
    midfingr
    Guest midfingr's Avatar

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    Just a quick note. As stated, removing SecuROM registry entries will indeed remove the activation information needed for authorization/de-authorization. The same goes for the removal tool, since it's purpose is to remove SecuROM -- it's related files, folders and registry keys.

  5. Top | #5
    Senior Member saraswati's Avatar
    Join Date
    17th May 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    So can they keep a copy of the license file somewhere to get around it? Is that even physically possible?

  6. Top | #6
    Senior Member Sblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    5th July 2008
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    864

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    If I'm not mistaken, that is even more difficult than removing Securom 'the old way'. Mid what do you say?

  7. Top | #7
    Senior Member saraswati's Avatar
    Join Date
    17th May 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    I know Spore players have been using it to get around the fact that they can't out and out remove SecuRom due to the fact that some features apparently just don't work properly with the pirated copy.. So what I'd be wondering is, does the license file regenerate along with SecuRom the next time they launch the game again?

  8. Top | #8
    Senior Member Darklord's Avatar
    Join Date
    26th February 2009
    Posts
    235

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    I don't think so. I think, the license information is added throughout the activation process. So you have to repeat activation, thus means 1 activation lost. I was quite sure that this is so but maybe you should add this information VERY EXPLICITLY in the removal guide, because un-experienced users may don't see this.

  9. Top | #9
    midfingr
    Guest midfingr's Avatar

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    That's a tough question. I do know that I kept registry entries and folders for digital downloads (if I remembered to do so). F.E.A.R. was one I purchased from D2D, SecuROM of course, and I did keep the relevant information. Any time I did a format of Windows and re-installed the game, I placed the registry keys and files back. After that, I was not asked to activate.

    So, from my experience it is possible. However that is just one case and may have been a lucky with that particular game. I see where this is leading though.
    Place commands into the script to backup the registry and folders. I'll dig around my backups (may take a while) and see what's needed.

  10. Top | #10
    Senior Member saraswati's Avatar
    Join Date
    17th May 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Does Spore De-Authorizer work with SecuROM removed?

    We can even provide a 'safe Spore' edition that allows them to back up this info.. Personally, if this helps those guys keep their activations and take the power back into their own hands, it's all good.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 to get SecuROM wrapper removed.
    By Lisa Pham in forum Positive Signs
    Replies: 8
    Recent Post: 29th September 2011, 11:50 AM
  2. Mac version of Spore has Securom, verified
    By rhiamom in forum PC Maintenance Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 3
    Recent Post: 2nd January 2009, 08:51 PM